eVeR aFteR

*For the guy who calls me his "messy beautiful twisted sunshine" for painstakingly writing the lyrics of this song on post-its and getting the both of us in trouble for it. Thank you for giving me this song. The same guy who has always been there for me for the past four years and who I know will continue to do so in the years to come. The one who has never broken a promise. My accomplice, my partner in crime. The only guy who could break me with his sarcasm and mean (realistic rather!) remarks but make me whole again with his witty antics. I believe each and everytime you’ve told me that you are the only L.I. (love interest) in this whole damned universe who will love me unconditionally and who’ll put up with me. You’ve certainly proven yourself. That even though I’m not your girlfriend, it doesn’t mean that I don’t care, or that i’ll never be; it’s just that right now, things are complicated enough. It’s just a title baby. Let’s not sweat the small stuff. I still wear the promise ring, right? This too shall pass, and our time will come. J’aime vous, tu ne c’est pas.

____________________________________________________    

Three years ago my journey began
Chasing down this cure, no plan in hand
Just your pulse, my racing guide in the dark
Just knowing with conviction from the start

The moment your eyes made an introduction
I felt my second violent breath of life
Flawless to the point of being godly
Yet I fell hard for your imperfections


And now we’re slightly weathered, we’re slightly worn
Our hands grip together eye to eye through the storm yet
I still believe in ever after with you, yeah
Coz life is a pleasure with you by my side
And there ain’t no current in this river we can’t ride
I still believe in ever after with you

Nothing compares to the good times
Feels like we’re floating when the rest have to climb
You made me believe in love and not the perfect kind
A real messy beautiful twisted sunshine
Emotions volcanic eruptions
We both still care so we’re still alive
Tunnel vision, determination
I want you I want to make it right

You are my twisted sunshine

One thought on “eVeR aFteR

Leave a Reply

