nuisible aux yeux

     I have recently seen the movie Apocalyto. Seriously.. I don’t know what the heck is wrong with Mel Gibson. I wish he gets over this phase. Not that I really care.. It just makes me wonder if he’ll ever do an English flick again.. ever??

     Apocalypto is, the very least, disturbing. I wish I hadn’t seen it. I’m not into the habit of making reviews about the movies I’ve seen. But like I’ve said, the movie is disturbing.

     Can I be even more moronic? I actually asked my boyfriend what’s happening on screen whilst I covered my eyes. The movie wasn’t in English so I didn’t think I’d have a prob. But the thing is, my boyfriend gave me a frame by frame. "They’re chopping the head off, babe. They’re bowling it down the temple and they’re tossing the decapitated body the same way." At’s sick especially since the crowd is jeering and obviously enjoying the human sacrifice.

     The end wasn’t really a happy one. Jaguar Paw is reunited with his family and as for his two pursuers, they greeted the conquistadors. History fills in the blanks that the barbarians led the foreigners to the city. Their gold were taken from them by the "gun bearers", they were exploited  and then were annihilated from the face of the earth after that. So, who’s the more vile between the two?

     The first night after I’ve seen it, I couldn’t sleep. This was before a two hour drive to Quezon. It’s so graphic and gory. The images have bored themselves into my subconscious and no amount of MTV or Jack TV can shake them off. I couldn’t eat meat for one whole day. To me, that’s tantamount to suicide. Gotta have my protein.

     Mel Gibson could get a tip or two from Disney when in comes o toning down certain aspects of the story to make it more appealing. I’m not sure what crowd or viewer sector he was aiming for, but it’s sure not the "indie" crowd. Get it?? HAHAHA. I’m so corny. Better log off before I incriminate myself further. Abraham Lincoln said that "It’s better to keep your mouth shut and be thought of as a fool than speak up and remove all doubt."

     So why did we go to see the movie? We didn’t want to have too wait to long for the one which we really wanted to see. If you’re having problems right now, and you want to keep your mind off them, this is the movie to see; after you’ve seen it, you won’t be able to think of anything else. For a day at least.

    

Leave a Reply

